Canada Council and me….

It’s been a crazy couple of weeks since the phone call from my “fan”. Last week I wrote about what had happened and the coward who attempted to scare me with his less than humanly kind comments about my writing. He had called from a blocked number and though he told me he was with the Canada Council, he refused to give me his name. Within a short time of posting this on here I received a reply from the public relations manager (you can see her comment in the previous blog entry). I had already sent a letter to the theatre officer. The next day I received a phone call from the theatre officer. I was glad to hear that they had taken this incident seriously and she assured me there was no way the phone call would have originated from anyone connected with the Canada Council. I believed her. I had posted about my application with Canada Council on social media – including a post when I was upset about not receiving a grant. I had also sent quite a large docket of information to several government institutions and individuals across Canada in hopes of bringing awareness to the issue of abuse in private schools after the residential schools had been shut down. My concern was that there has been no investigation into where the abusers went after they were no longer in the residential schools – they were placed all over – in schools across North America – this led to the people who were my abusers as a child. This kind of reporting or recording of their movements across the educational system has not been investigated wholly. Further complicating the issue is the ease of which pedophile priests were able to change their names – for example it would be easy for father Ignatious to become father Paul, etc – this quick clerical name change and shuffle from school to school provides an excellent cloak of invisibility allowing the perpetrator to carry on indulging in his or her sick game of hunting their prey. My information (including the play itself) went to several places – any of which could have had an individual take the action of calling me to share their disgust.

I had a very good conversation with the theatre officer, and we discussed ways in which I can make future applications stronger. It was comforting to hear that the Canada Council actually does care about process, and about impersonators who are too cowardly to come forward on their own accord.

I am carrying on – moving forward with this important piece of theatre. Though I admit I am a bit shaken by that call, I am not deterred from moving forward. Thanks to the Canada Council (and in particular Lise Ann) for calling me to put my concerns at ease.

Next week I will share a letter I just received from the Premier of British Columbia about my story……

2 thoughts on “Canada Council and me….

  1. bernicefehr@yahoo.ca

    Such good initiative Nick as you really are moving forward, and connecting where it is mattering! B.

    Sent from Windows Mail

Leave a Reply

